Into the Blackness

Last week was nothing but gloom.  It drizzled, to us it looked like rain, but over the weekend the clouds moved out of town and on Sunday they left a beautiful reminder of why we should be happy they’re around.

I made the decision to hop in the van and head down to Blackies Beach in Newport Beach, CA.  Blackies was packed as perusual on the weekend.  After a few minutes of circling, I felt like a shark, I was blessed with a spot.  It was after 6, parking was free, even if the sunset wasn’t spectacular, it would still be fun.

Awaiting for the magic moment, I walked around the pier not wanting to get to far from where I planned to shoot.

_WM_0667
The tower everyone sees from the water.

_WM_0699

As the sun began to fall below the horizon the magic began to happen.  With every passing second within the 2 hours I was there the beauty became more and more obvious.

_WM_0760_WM_0774_WM_0777_WM_0779

_WM_0793
Hold still, I need to put you on Instagram.

_WM_0800_WM_0812_WM_0815_WM_0824_WM_0829_WM_0833

The purples and pinks slowly mixing into the blues and golds of the skies pallet.

_WM_0838_WM_0840_WM_0874_WM_0878_WM_0883_WM_0890_WM_0900_WM_0910

As I walked back to my van I saw the many faces of watchers staring not at the beauty it’s self, but through a screen.  It made me glad I watched without touching my phone.

The grand view.

 

 

CAMERA:  CANON 7D   ///   LENS:  Tokina 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 Fishey   ///   EDITING SOFTWARE:  ADOBE LIGHTROOM

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

